Private All Girls School

Preschool-High School

Princeton, New Jersey

Mobile Navigation

Eight seniors receive national recognition for academic achievement

Eight Stuart seniors have received national recognition for their academic achievements. Seven students have been recognized by The National Merit Program, and three students have received recognition from College Board. 

Earlier this year, Shirley Xie was named a National Merit Semifinalist. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $30 million that will be offered next spring. Around 1.5 million juniors from 21,000 high schools entered the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). The nationwide pool of semifinalists represent less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors. Only 15,000 students are expected to attain finalist standing, and about half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar® title.

Six students - Lia Bull-Krieg, Vivian Chen, Vicky Liu, Penelope Luchs, Nia Melvin, and Mia Szabo - were named Commended Students in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program. These students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2021 competition by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). They are recognized for their exceptional academic promise not only in the Stuart community but throughout the nation.

Finally, students who take the PSAT/NMSQT and are African American, Hispanic American or Latinx, Indigenous, attend school in a rural area, or are from a small town, may be invited to apply for academic recognition as part of the College Board National Recognition Programs. College Board’s National Recognition Programs create pathways to college for students from underserved communities by awarding them academic honors and connecting them with universities across the country. The following students received special recognition: Emma Claisse, National Hispanic Recognition Program; Nia Melvin, National African-American Recognition Program; and Lia Bull-Krieg, National Rural and Small Town Recognition Program.

Congratulations to these outstanding students for their academic leadership!


Explore Our Divisions