Private All Girls School

Preschool-High School

Princeton, New Jersey

Mobile Navigation

National Center for Girls' Leadership at Stuart


We're excited to announce the expansion of the Stuart Center for Girls' Leadership. The National Center for Girls' Leadership at Stuart (NCGLS) works to support and empower the next generation of female leaders. Through research, professional programming, and development of innovative curriculum, Stuart serves as a resource to parents, students and educators throughout the world.

Meet our director, Courtney Portlock

The Leadership Diploma Endorsement at Stuart

We know that leadership can be cultivated and developed through an exploration of leadership theory, the development of leadership skills and qualities and the application of this knowledge. We are excited to offer our students the opportunity to pursue leadership studies, and if they choose, they may earn an endorsement in leadership to be noted on their high school transcript. Students must apply to the program, take three leadership courses, complete a practicum/independent study junior year, and a final thesis presentation senior year.

Leadership courses include:

Leadership Theory and Ethics, Leadership Styles

Students explore the ideas and writing of some of the greatest thinkers in history, including: Aristotle, Kant, Rawls, Bok, and Goleman. Students will examine the values and principles of ethical character and decision-making.

Personal Leadership Development

Students examine different leadership styles of prominent leaders in our society. Leaders from different fields such as government and politics, arts and entertainment, service, science and technology are studied. Special attention is given to powerful female leaders including Eleanor Roosevelt, Hillary Clinton, Virginia Woolf, Mother Teresa, Marie Curie, and Oprah Winfrey. Students learn to identify and develop their own leadership styles, strengths and areas of growth.

Applied Leadership

Students learn the practical skills of goal setting and project management. They also have the opportunity to lead and work in teams to develop programs and activities. The culmination of the course is the development and execution of a school program such as the mini-Student Diversity Leadership Conference or the Young Women in Leadership Workshop.

Women in Leadership Speaker Series

The Women in Leadership Speaker Series brings prominent women leaders to Stuart for keynote presentations and panel discussions. The series was initiated in 2006 with the mission of educating girls, and those who mentor and support them, to the qualities of “leadership for life.” Skills in personal excellence, individual leadership, self-confidence and personal vision are stressed through this program.

2019 Women in Leadership Speaker: Dr. Tara Grabowsky '88

DR. TARA GRABOWSKY '88 is an expert in the field of healthcare analytics. Currently, she works for McKinsey & Co., where she leads global data strategy for the Pharmaceutical and Medical Products Practice. 

Dr. Tara Grabowsky '88 will speak on Monday, November 25 at 2 PM in Cor Unum

DR. TARA GRABOWSKY is an expert in the field of healthcare analytics. Currently, she works for McKinsey & Co., where she leads global data strategy for the Pharmaceutical and Medical Products Practice. 

Dr. Grabowsky originally trained as a physician and practiced internal medicine for over a decade. In 2014, she transitioned from clinical medicine to industry, where she helped to build a healthcare analytics company as the Chief Medical Officer. By leveraging partnerships with data vendors, payors, academic partners, and patient advocacy groups, the company employed advanced analytics to answer medical affairs, commercial, and clinical pharmaceutical questions. Dr. Grabowsky worked previously for Johnson & Johnson in its regulatory affairs department. She graduated from Dartmouth College, attended Stanford Medical School, and completed her internal medicine residency at Harvard’s Brigham and Women’s Hospital.  

Recent Speakers

Shika Uberoi Bajpai ’00

Vice President of Business Development and Partnerships at
2018 WIL Speaker
Full bio >>

Priyanka Sinha ’00

Founder and CEO,
2017 WIL Speaker
Full bio >>

Barbara Byrne

Vice Chairman,
Investment Bank at Barclays
2016 WIL Speaker
Full bio >>

Dr. Michele Gillespie ’79

Dean of the College
at Wake Forest University
November 2015 WIL Speaker
Full bio >>

Speaker Referral Program

If you would like to be considered as a speaker with the NCGLS, or know of someone else, please let us know!

Click here to fill out the form


Leadership Resources

Expand for leadership resources

Student Voice Defined - A clear definition of student voice

Edutopia - Keep up-to-date on the latest trends in education

Rutgers Eagleton Institute of Politics: Teach a Girl to Lead - Search for leadership programs near you

GirlsUp - Programming offered to girls ages 10–13

Gardner Carney Leadership Institute Blog - Where teachers share how they teach leadership

Girl's Leadership - Day and overnight leadership development programs for girls of all ages

NCGS article: "Student leadership development in secondary girls’ schools" - From the National Coalition of Girls Schools

Rutgers Institute for Women's Leadership - Advancing women's leadership for a just world

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board serves in the capacity of consultant to the National Center for Girls' Leadership at Stuart. The advisory board consists of outstanding leaders across a variety of disciplines who are deeply committed to the advancement of leadership development in young women. The president of Stuart's student government and a faculty liaison also serve on the Board.

Stephanie Champi ’12
Recruitment Manager at Teach For America

Mung Chiang 
John A. Edwardson Dean of the College of Engineering, Roscoe H. George Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Purdue University

Ivonne Diaz Claisse
President and CEO, HISPA

Lori Hennon-Bell
Vice President and Chief Security Officer, Prudential Financial

Dr. Trisha Medeiros
President, Ursuline Academy

Natalie Pemberton '20
(new to the advisory board for the 2019-2020 school year)

Courtney Portlock
(new to the advisory board for the 2019-2020 school year)

Shannon Rangecroft
(new to the advisory board for the 2019-2020 school year)

Priyanka Sinha ’00 
CEO and Founder, Xitiway

Rebekah Ten Hagen ’19
President of Student Government at Stuart

Joanna Vargas ’88
Founder, Joanna Vargas Skincare and Salon




Faculty in Residence

Jan Baldwin
Middle School Dean of Students, Chair of Upper School Fine Arts

Jason Bink
STEM Endorsement Co-Chair, Biology Teacher

Joe Hurford
Upper School Dean of Students, Math Teacher

Christina Kosyla
Lower School Theology and Drama Teacher

Samantha Ryan
Leadership Endorsement Chair, 
Middle and Upper Schools Health Teacher

Alicia Testa
STEM/SIFE Coordinator, STEM Endorsement Co-Chair,
Technology Innovation Specialist


The Harris B. Siegel Fund
for Student Leadership

The expansion of our leadership programs has been made possible by the Harris B. Siegel Fund for Student Leadership, established by Patricia Costante and Stephanie Champi ’12. Their generous gift was given to Stuart in gratitude for Mr. Siegel, a long time director of college counseling.